Greetings & Salutations

Introduce yourself to others at Dhamma Wheel.
JP_1992

Greetings & Salutations

Post by JP_1992 »

Greetings to everyone! :smile: My apologies if this is posted in the wrong section or forum.

My name is Joshua and I am a sixteen year-old student enrolled in a high school in South Australia, Australia.

I have an assignment for the subject of Studies of Society. This assignment requires me to:
1. Explore the idea of religious culture and its contribution to youth identity and social identity.
2. Consider and evaluate some of the different beliefs and values associated with religious affiliation.

I am required to conduct an interview with a person from a particular religion or faith (such as a follower of Buddhism, a member of the Islam faith, etc.) and use the acquired information and responses to develop an analysis report of cultural diversity in contemporary youth culture. I am to pay particular attention to the the question of "to what extent does religion influence identity as a young Australian in contemporary Australian society?".

I decided to choose Buddhism as my topic predominantly because I find it to be a particularly interesting faith and way of life. I chose to use an internet forum to go about conducting an interview due to the reasons of of not personally knowing many people of seperate faiths, and due to personal shyness and anxiety of conducting a public interview. I found this site via a Google search and thought it would be helpful.

I require an actively-practising Buddhist, who is living in Australia and is under 25 years of age. The interviewee must consent and give permission for me to use contents of the interview in my project. The interview questions themselves range from general questions about the faith, to questions regarding the impact the faith has on a member of society.