Greetings!

Introduce yourself to others at Dhamma Wheel.
Pathero

Greetings!

Post by Pathero »

Hello and greetings from England! :)

I am new to Dhamma Wheel seeing as this category is about introduction let me introduce myself :)

My name is Blake and I'm 19 years young, I turn 20 in October.
I'm currently a student in College studying level 2 site carpentry.

My reason for signing up? - Well a few years a go I was visiting Sri Lanka on holiday with my parents as my dad has just been put in remission from cancer, whilst their I discovered Buddhism and I was so intrigued everything about it I could relate too!
Since then I've been fascinated by everything to do with Buddhism so this night I was searching forums and stumbled across this one and thought why not sign up and get more of an understanding and perhaps get some questions answered that I am curious about?

I have two questions to already fire away with
Number 1) I have tattoos all with a meaning - I have an Angel on my upper arm with my Grandparents names and dates of birth and death, I have my family name down my forearm and a script with mum and dad written in it on my wrist, I'm also getting a half sleeve on my other forearm with my brothers and sisters names entwined with a scroll reading "For Those I Love I Will Sacrifice" my main concern is I have a tattoo on my hand of a Celtic cross because I have Irish heritage but I feel if I wish to study Buddhism and perhaps even become a monk (If that is even possible for me?) that my tattoos will hinder me or they will be frowned upon, I have be contemplating for a while to have the one on my hand removed, and I feel that if I could become a monk if it was removed then I would certainly go through with it.
Sorry for such a long post and I can't wait to meet the rest of you and hear what you have to say, enjoy your Day/Afternoon/Evening or Night wherever you may be in the world!

Regards,
Blake :yingyang:
cooran

Re: Greetings!

Post by cooran »