Hello everyone !

Introduce yourself to others at Dhamma Wheel.

Hello everyone !

Postby Ajisai » Mon Aug 12, 2013 3:21 am

Hello everyone :hello:

I am a 28 years old girl and I am new to Buddhism.
English is not my first language; I have a pretty good understanding but sometimes my expression gets a little weird so please do not hesitate to correct my english (I would really appreciate that actually) or ask questions if what I write is unclear.

(Before posting: I realize this is a very long post. If you quickly want to know about me, maybe it is better you read only the last part I put in blue. If you like long and boring readings though, you are welcome to do so).

My first encounter with buddhism is when my mom and I went to see the movie Little Buddha at a theater. I was little at the time, but I remember being very impressed by the Buddha's life and some of the Buddhist concepts. But that was all then, since I was being raised as a (tolerant) Catholic Christian.

My second encounter happened during my first trip to Japan about seven years ago. I lived there for a year, and like most tourists, during my travels I visited many beautiful Buddhist temples. The only Buddhist notions I had were vague recollections Buddhims as portrayed in movies, documentaries and tv shows. I then though it was too bad visiting Buddhist temples without knowing what Buddhim was about. So I bought the book "The teachings of Buddha" that was sold in one of the temples and started reading it. It was a complete discovery. I realized some completely new concepts, and at the same time there were many things on which I agreed. It changed my point of view on some things for some time, but then I kind of forgot about them.