Hey there!

Introduce yourself to others at Dhamma Wheel.

Hey there!

Postby Mort432 » Wed May 07, 2014 12:29 am

:namaste:

Hey! I've joined up because I'm expecting to be asking a lot of questions over the next few months, heh.

My name's Connagh, I'm 18 and I'm a student in the UK. I've always had an interest in Buddhism but always felt disillusioned towards it, having grown up with parents and family heavily into "contemporary zen" and crystal healing and the like, which has always seemed very hokey to me (no offence intended to those who may or may not draw enjoyment and comfort from these things).

However, I recently had a copy of Hesse's Siddhartha passed on to me by my college tutor, and it rekindled something inside me, showed me that there was substance to be found within real Buddhism. After a lot of reading and a little meditation, I've decided to follow this path and see where in leads. I have a Buddhist centre near me, planning on attending for meditation practice tomorrow.

I've still not decided on a school of Buddhism, still need to find a decent resource so I can learn about each one.
Theravada currently seems a likely choice but I need to make a more informed decision.
Mort432

Re: Hey there!

Postby Mkoll » Wed May 07, 2014 12:36 am

Welcome to the forum!

If you're interested in learning more about Theravada, I recommend you check out Ven. Bhikku Bodhi's translations of the Theravada scriptures, the Pali Canon. This audio by the same serves as a great introduction to it all, IMO.
Peace,
James
Mkoll

Postby Mort432 » Wed May 07, 2014 12:39 am

Mkoll wrote:Welcome to the forum!

If you're interested in learning more about Theravada, I recommend you check out Ven. Bhikku Bodhi's translations of the Theravada scriptures, the Pali Canon. This audio by the same serves as a great introduction to it all, IMO.

Thank you very much! I'll probably get the PDF as I'm a fairly fast reader. This is very useful, thank you once more.

:anjali:
Mort432