Hi! Any rational people out there?

Introduce yourself to others at Dhamma Wheel.

Hi! Any rational people out there?

Postby alan » Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:29 am

Recently found your forum. I'm hoping to discuss Dhamma with intelligent, sane people. All too often I run up against mushy-minded new-agey crystals and pyramid types--or worse!
I'm a photographer, currently working in New England (USA), heading off to Asia in November. Second time through Handful of leaves, it has been a revelation. I've found accesstoinsight to be an incredible resource. I'd like to talk to others on the path. The non-crazy ones, I mean.
Last edited by alan on Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
alan

Re: Hi! Any rational people out there?

Postby retrofuturist » Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:34 am

Greetings Alan,

Welcome to Dhamma Wheel.

No crystals here :tongue:

P.S. You might want to have a look at the different sub-forums here, get a feel of what they're each about (and any forum-specific guidelines they may possess) and use this categorisation to customise your experience here by steering clear of that which won't be of interest to you.

Metta,
Retro. :)
If you have asked me of the origination of unease, then I shall explain it to you in accordance with my understanding:
Whatever various forms of unease there are in the world, They originate founded in encumbering accumulation. (Pārāyanavagga)

Exalted in mind, just open and clearly aware, the recluse trained in the ways of the sages:
One who is such, calmed and ever mindful, He has no sorrows! -- Udana IV, 7

Dharma Wheel (Mahayana / Vajrayana forum) -- Open flower ~ Open book (blog)
retrofuturist
Site Admin

Postby Cittasanto » Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:49 am

NO sorry if you find anyone who is sane and rational slap them with a kipper 60 times while singing the birdy song off key in e minor, then youll see just how sane and rational they really are!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IhJQp-q1Y1s