It's because the recipient hasn't access their messages in order to pick them up.
Once you see them drop out of the outbox, you will know they have been received.
Being in the outbox also means you can edit the message if you like, and also delete it if it's no longer of any relevance.
"Having understood name-and-form, which is a product of prolificity,
And which is the root of all malady within and without,
He is released from bondage to the root of all maladies,
That Such-like-one is truly known as 'the one who has understood'." (Snp 3.6)
"Whether I were to preach in brief, Sāriputta, or whether I were to preach in detail, Sāriputta, or whether I were to preach both in brief or in detail, Sāriputta, rare are those who understand." (A I 333, Sāriputtasutta)