Working with "others"

A place to discuss casual topics amongst spiritual friends.
Digger

Working with "others"

Post by Digger »

I work at a medium sized firm in the US (a few hundred employees). I feel it is "right livelihood" and feel good about what I do for a living. There are a few really good people there. But I would say that a high percentage of the people there are one or more of the following: crazy lazy stupid selfish or backstabber.

There is plenty of politics, brown nosing, crazy decisions, waste, inefficiency, lack of teamwork and all the other negative things that occur in the work world.

Meetings have a tendency to spin off into group insanity.

There is both sexual harassment and women using their looks and lets say their "services" to get promoted.

Almost all of the employees claim they are Christian and occasionally try to convert me. I have been told more than once that I am going to hell for not converting. The Christian owner sometimes has group prayers at meetings, has a few Jesus pictures on the walls and believes Jesus takes care of the company. The business has no business tie to any religion (i.e. its not a Christian Hospital or anything like that).

Anyone else going through any of this? How do you deal with it?
He is different. He thinks.
dagon

Re: Working with "others"

Post by dagon »

Hi Digger - dont know if this will help

I am not sure which question you are asking because there are two possible questions with two very different answers. I will assume that the question asked is how you can maintain you practice and develop as a Buddhist.
You have a normal work environment will all of the problems that most have. I use this to remind myself of the First Nobel Truth.