Why I don't watch the news...

Casual discussion amongst spiritual friends.
Mawkish1983
Which number is larger than 1000 and less than 1002: 1

Why I don't watch the news...

Postby Mawkish1983 » Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:56 pm

Just some random musings before I get on with cleaning the kitchen...

In 1982 (before I was even born) a statement was made which is as true now as it was then (it might even be more true now!)

Donald Hugh Henley wrote:I make my living off the evening news. Just give me something, something I can use. People love it when you lose, they love dirty laundry. Well, I could have been an actor but I wound up here. I just have to look good, I dont have to be clear. Come and whisper in my ear, give us dirty laundry. Kick them when they're up, kick them when they're down. Kick them when they're up, kick them when they're down. Kick them when they're up, kick them when they're down. Kick them when they're up, kick them all around. We've got the bubble-headed-bleach-blonde who comes on at five. She can tell you about the plane crash with a gleam in her eye. It's interesting when people die; gives us dirty laundry. Can we film the operation? Is the head dead yet? You know, the boys in the newsroom have got a running bet. Get the widow on the set, we need dirty laundry. You don't really need to find out what's going on, you don't really want to know just how far its gone. Just leave well enough alone, eat your dirty laundry. Kick them when they're up, kick them when they're down. Kick them when they're up, kick them when they're down. Kick them when they're up, kick them when they're down. Kick them when they're stiff, kick them all around. Dirty little secrets, dirty little lies. We've got our dirty little fingers in everybody's pies. We love to cut you down to size, we love dirty laundry. We can do the innuendo, we can dance and sing. When it's said and done with haven't told you a thing. We all know that crap is king, give's us dirty laundry.