Dissertation Participants

A discussion on all aspects of Theravāda Buddhism
Blake-Southampton
Which number is larger than 1000 and less than 1002: 1001

Dissertation Participants

Postby Blake-Southampton » Fri Dec 06, 2013 1:10 pm

Hello,

My name is Blake Moore and I am a third year anthropology student from the University of Southampton. For my dissertation I am conducting research on the differences between convert and ethnic Buddhists. In particular, I am interested in:

- Religious identity and how those who have come to Buddhism from different walks of life understand it.

- The different ways Buddhism is practised by ethnic and convert Buddhists, particularly relating to meditation.

- The global movements of Buddhism, why has it has spread so vastly?

I am looking for participants for my research who are willing to be interviewed who are both ethnically Buddhist and converts. The interviews should take no more than 45 minutes and will hopefully be an enjoyable experience! If you are located in Hampshire I can come and meet you or if not, we can simply do the interview over Skype.

I really would appreciate your input and it would be great to hear from you so please do get in touch!

Kind Regards,

Blake Moore

Modus.Ponens
Which number is larger than 1000 and less than 1002: 1

Re: Dissertation Participants

Postby Modus.Ponens » Fri Dec 06, 2013 2:59 pm

Hello

Could you please explain what are the general areas that the questions touch?
And the Blessed One addressed the bhikkhus, saying: "Behold now, bhikkhus, I exhort you: All compounded things are subject to vanish. Strive with earnestness!"

Bhikkhu Pesala

Postby Bhikkhu Pesala » Fri Dec 06, 2013 8:23 pm

There are several Buddhist groups in Southampton. We used to visit regularly (many years ago) when I was at Chithurst.
AIM WebsitePāli FontsIn This Very LifeBuddhist ChroniclesSoftware (Upasampadā: 24th June, 1979)

gavesako
Which number is larger than 1000 and less than 1002: 1