Anecdotal Evidence of Asuras & Assorted Cosmology

A discussion on all aspects of Theravāda Buddhism
Viriya
Which number is larger than 1000 and less than 1002: 6

Anecdotal Evidence of Asuras & Assorted Cosmology

Postby Viriya » Thu Sep 16, 2010 4:59 am

We hear a lot about interactions between humans and devas and humans and ghosts...especially in the Thai Forest tradition. Even in the wider Australian community, I often hear stories about experiences with ghosts, angels etc (of varying degrees of credibility). I have also heard of many encounters with spirits (devata? gandhabba?) from Aboriginal people in North Queensland.

So, why the apparent lack of human contact with asuras? Is it because of their lack of cultivation (i.e, not being as mobile as some of the other deva?) [Vepacitta, any ideas?]

Also, does the Western classification of 'ghost' correspond to the petaloka?
I'm not very good at right speech, although I try, so please guide and correct me if necessary so I don't make bad kamma for myself and cause others to be annoyed. (=

5heaps

Re: Anecdotal Evidence of Asuras & Assorted Cosmology

Postby 5heaps » Thu Sep 16, 2010 5:16 am

theres some talk about it maybe having to do with electricity, especially for ghost realm beings. in general though titans and so on supposedly hate the stink of the part of the desire realm where humans tend to reside (because of their residing there). higher realm beings are in general virtuous objects so its not correct to think that meeting them is a matter of just bumping into them some place.
A Japanese man has been arrested on suspicion of writing a computer virus that destroys and replaces files on a victim PC with manga images of squid, octopuses and sea urchins. Masato Nakatsuji, 27, of Izumisano, Osaka Prefecture, was quoted as telling police: "I wanted to see how much my computer programming skills had improved since the last time I was arrested."

Vepacitta

Postby Vepacitta » Sat Sep 18, 2010 3:54 am