how to lose the sense of self?

A discussion on all aspects of Theravāda Buddhism

how to lose the sense of self?

Postby josephcmabad » Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:03 am

hey guys.. im new to Buddhism and as far as I've known, almost all of the attachments (which leads to suffering) comes from our idea of the self or ego.. so how can i train my mind not only in meditation but in the perspective of daily thinking as i go with my everyday duties to disengage from this sense of self? i'm struggling from negative thoughts like envy, insecurity, guilt (not being good enough) and shame which i believe is the cause of my being so attached to the self idea.. what precepts / concepts can help me separate negative / positive feelings from my mind which solidifies the sense of self? :thinking:
josephcmabad

Re: how to lose the sense of self?

Postby Ben » Sun Mar 20, 2011 4:06 am

Greetings josephcmabad,
My opinion is that I believe you might be trying to put the cart in-front of the horse. Though, I am sure, others will disagree.
The eradication of the defilement of conceit occurs as the result of sustained practice. Sakkyaditthi (personality-view) is eradicated with sotapatti-magga (first stage of enlightenment). To get to that stage, you will need to engage with Dhamma on a practical level by:
1. Taking refuge in triple gem
2. Engage in dana (generosity) and pariyatti (study)
3. Develop samadhi (concentration) via samatha (calm/tranquility) meditation
4. Develop panna (wisdom) via vipassana (insight) meditation.

Very many people find themselves well assisted on the path by going on a residential meditation retreat which includes most aspects of the above. Having done a residential retreat, one is then well equiped to keep the practice going in day-to-day life and to make progress on the path.
kind regards

Ben
Learn this from the waters:
in mountain clefts and chasms,
loud gush the streamlets,
but great rivers flow silently.

Taṃ nadīhi vijānātha:
sobbhesu padaresu ca,