Daily Practice for Modern Times

A discussion on all aspects of Theravāda Buddhism
seizan

Daily Practice for Modern Times

Post by seizan »

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Dhamma Wheel, and new to the Theravada tradition. As I will share in the introductory forum, I am not new to Buddhism- I have spent much time studying Mahayana texts and teachings and was very active in a Zen sangha for an extended period. I have come to the Theravada tradition to learn more about this path and out of a desire to more closely learn what Gotama Buddha taught (understanding the caveats.)

I wanted to share the practice that I put together for daily life, as lived in a busy household. I tried to keep the practice realistic and attainable, but wanted to get thoughts from forum members! I am open to alterations and suggestions.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Tjs ... sp=sharing

The practice I put together is 4 parts: Setting Intention, Taking Refuge, Buddho or Vipassana Bhavana(alternating) and Metta Bhavana. This practice can be completed in about a half hour to 45 minutes, a more realistic time frame for me. I didn't include detailed instructions on the outline, just the "gist."

Is there anything that would be considered "essential" in the Theravada tradition I would be lacking? Throughout the week I would still study dhamma and sutta.

In kindness and love,
Seizan
Ben

Re: Daily Practice for Modern Times

Post by Ben »

Sila (morality), dana (generosity), samadhi bhavana (cultivation of concentration), vipassana bhavana (cultivation of insight), Pariyatti (study).
Meditation is excellent, but it's not everything.
With metta,
Ben
“No lists of things to be done. The day providential to itself. The hour. There is no later. This is later. All things of grace and beauty such that one holds them to one's heart have a common provenance in pain. Their birth in grief and ashes.”
- Cormac McCarthy, The Road

Learn this from the waters:
in mountain clefts and chasms,