Unusual idea to help mindfulness in the modern world

A discussion on all aspects of Theravāda Buddhism
mindfulmaniac

Unusual idea to help mindfulness in the modern world

Post by mindfulmaniac »

In my spare time I am an open source software developer and general geek.

I have just finished a large project and am staring 'esati', a hand held device with 3 - 4 buttons a 4 line LCD display, speaker and microphone which will help me with daily practice.

Its aim is to help me be mindful during a busy working day full of driving and phone calls. I have started the code and will start putting soldering iron to chips in the next 2 - 3 weeks but the outline modes are ...

(1) Waits until conversation is detected, after a min or two plays a pre recorded message or sound ie a 'practice correct speech' or more subtly the sound of a meditation bell. When the conversation ceases, goto sleep until conversation is detected again.

(2) Waits until there is no conversation and at random intervals play a pre recorded message or sound ie 'just drive nothing else' or more subtly the the sound of a meditation bell. Random gap will be programmable from x mins to y mins. If conversation is detected ie due to a co-worker or a phone conversation, goto sleep until the conversation has ended.

(3) Combines (1) & (2) above

(4) Conventional meditation timer. Time programmable

The idea being that the messages can be easily changed, ie from 'just drive nothing else' to 'metta for other drivers' or 'metta for my co-workers' etc etc ...

Anyhow am unsure how this will be received, and I have a lot of work to do to complete it, probably 8 - 12 months but would like to know what you all think. :juggling:

Cheers

Dave
Goofaholix

Re: Unusual idea to help mindfulness in the modern world

Post by Goofaholix »