A good start to reading the sutta's

A forum for members who wish to develop a deeper understanding of the Pali Canon and associated Commentaries, which for discussion purposes are both treated as authoritative.

Moderator: Mahavihara moderator

A good start to reading the sutta's

Postby greeneggsandsam » Sun Jan 26, 2014 3:59 am

Hi all,

I am interested in reading some of the original sutta's and wondering where a good place to look would be?

I am new to all this so forgive me if I make any silly mistakes... :)

As I understand the Pali Canon is split up into different books/sections?

I am looking for a translation also, I can't read Pali!!!

I found this, what do you think?

http://www.amazon.com/Dhammapada-Transl ... pd_sim_b_7

Again I have never read any of the original (translated) texts, so where do beginners usually start?

On a side note - I know they have most of the sutta's online, but I am not a big fan of reading too much material online, it makes my eyes hurt :shock:

Thanks!!
greeneggsandsam

Re: A good start to reading the sutta's

Postby culaavuso » Sun Jan 26, 2014 4:03 am

In the Buddha's Words contains a number of discourses from the Pali Canon translated by Bhikkhu Bodhi and organized helpfully in a format matching the general outline of the gradual training given in the suttas themselves.
culaavuso

Postby bodom » Sun Jan 26, 2014 4:23 am

Befriending the Suttas: Tips on Reading the Pali Discourses

"Thus you should train yourselves: 'We will listen when discourses that are words of the Tathagata — deep, deep in their meaning, transcendent, connected with emptiness — are being recited. We will lend ear, will set our hearts on knowing them, will regard these teachings as worth grasping & mastering.' That's how you should train yourselves."

— SN 20.7