I don't understand how meditation leads to englightenment?

A forum for beginners and members of other Buddhist traditions to ask questions about Theravāda (The Way of the Elders). Responses require moderator approval before they are visible in order to double-check alignment to Theravāda orthodoxy.
MrLearner

I don't understand how meditation leads to englightenment?

Post by MrLearner »

Hello everyone,

As a beginner I have tried breathing meditation few times. Yes it is certainly a good exercise to reduce stress, I can see that, but I don't understand how it would lead to enlightenment?

1. How will my cravings go away after meditation? Eg after meditation if I see some beautiful object I still get attached to it.

2. How will I understand that everything is changing and nothing is permanent

3. How will I understand all the theories of Buddhism such as non self after meditation

I have tried breathing meditation. It relaxes my mind I agree, I'm calmer after it, but in long term I don't understand how it would it free my mind from all the delusions it is tangled in. This saddens me because I understand meditation is an art, and just a like a person who is really good at something, you have to practice to become better, but when I have doubts about the end result it makes me not try.

Thank you :)
Sam Vara
Site Admin

Re: I don't understand how meditation leads to englightenmen

Post by Sam Vara »

Good questions. Meditation alone, without the other path factors, is very unlikely to do the things you specify. As you say, it is good at stress reduction, but it is not a panacea that will bring about these changes automatically. There is also the fact that for most people, changes resulting from meditation takes a long time. Depending on your own personal qualities, it can take years. But here goes: