How often should I meditate?

A forum for beginners and members of other Buddhist traditions to ask questions about Theravāda (The Way of the Elders). Responses require moderator approval before they are visible.

How often should I meditate?

Postby Claire » Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:55 am

I have another question. Im sorry if this seems a little silly but I am very new to all this. How often should a person meditate? ..... how often do you meditate? I tried this seriously for the first time yesterday and managed just short of 10 minutes... It’s a lot more difficult than I thought it would be, but then also easy at the same time.... if that makes sense?? :thinking: I didn’t feel very different afterwards although I did notice quite a difference this morning when I went for my run. I was much more able to focus and shave almost a minute of my regular 5k time. :woohoo:

Claire.
Claire

Re: How often should I meditate?

Postby Anicca » Wed Jun 16, 2010 12:53 pm

How often for a beginner? As frequently as possible - daily is good- twice daily is good. Dedicate yourself to a routine and stick with it. Find spots in your daily rhythm that work. Even if it is only once a week that is better than never - but it would be like dieting one day out of seven - you won't lose much - and that is the reason to meditate - to lose our unskillful greed, anger and ignorance.

Eventually meditation is best 4-4-1 - any of four frames of reference [body - feelings - mind - mental qualities] - any of four positions [standing - walking - sitting - laying] - at any one time [always now!] ;) .

Since you can almost do ten minutes make ten minutes a goal to work up to each session - then fifteen - then twenty etc...

Metta
Anicca

Postby Tex » Wed Jun 16, 2010 5:17 pm

Hello, Claire, and welcome.