About not kill any living being

A forum for beginners and members of other Buddhist traditions to ask questions about Theravāda (The Way of the Elders). Responses require moderator approval before they are visible in order to double-check alignment to Theravāda orthodoxy.
_Daniel_

About not kill any living being

Post by _Daniel_ »

Hello,

I am agnostic, and I am studying buddhism, because I think that it is a interesting religion/philosophy, and I would like do a approach to it. I have a question about the importance of not kill any living being. For example, if I am sleeping, and there are a lot of mosquitoes in the room trying to bite me, cant I kill them? It is survival, I dont want kill them, but they are attacking me.

Thank You.
Mukunda

Re: About not kill any living being

Post by Mukunda »

Is killing the mosquitoes the ONLY option? What about (1) mosquito netting, (2) repellents, (3) going to a different room?

:anjali:
Kenshou

Post by Kenshou »

Well, they aren't attacking you with malicious intent. They need your yummy fluids to live, that's really all there is to it. They have only their own well-being in mind (not that they have much of a mind at all) when they nip you, they don't know they're irritating you.

That said, they are annoying, and you'll probably instinctively mush a few of them without thinking about it, if you're trying to be compassionate or not. And though you aren't likely to suffer much over killing a bug, the fact is that an attitude of killing isn't productive to the rest of the path, from the Buddhist perspective, and we are out to cultivate wholesome attitudes and discourage unproductive ones. I don't know where you live or your conditions, personally I try to make sure to open doors and windows quickly and minimize opportunities for buggies to get in the house.
Last edited by Kenshou on Tue Jul 06, 2010 6:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
_Daniel_

Post by _Daniel_ »