Question about reincarnation

A forum for beginners and members of other Buddhist traditions to ask questions about Theravāda (The Way of the Elders). Responses require moderator approval before they are visible in order to double-check alignment to Theravāda orthodoxy.
loft

Question about reincarnation

Post by loft »

Hi,

I'm new to Buddhism and had a question about reincarnation, which I find very interesting.

Is reincarnation only linear? I mean, does it follow the forward flow of time? In other words, if I were to die today and were reincarnated, would it be in the future? Or is reincarnation in the past possible? So is it possible to die in 2011 and be reincarnated in the year 1450?

Also, when you die, are you reincarnated right away or might you not be reincarnated for fifty more years?

Sorry if my questions are so basic. I just wonder about this a lot....
retrofuturist

Re: Question about reincarnation

Post by retrofuturist »

Greetings Loft,

Welcome to Dhamma Wheel.

One fundamental assumption underpinning your question is that there is some "I" or "myself" that is transported throughout these time periods.

In Buddhism, it is recognised that this perception of "I" or "self" is actually a cognitive error, and anything we might think of, or experience as "self" is actually impermanent. This is the teaching of anatta (not-self).

I would recommend investigating anatta in depth before pursuing your current line of enquiry any further, lest you feel into the wrong view of believing there is a consciousness that transmigrates from one life time to the next.

To see how the Buddha responded when people assumed that was his teaching, see...

MN 38: Mahatanhasankhaya Sutta
http://www.leighb.com/mn38.htm" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Metta,
Retro. :)
"Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things."
ajahndoe