How do you/did you tell unsupportive parents?

Discussion of ordination, the Vinaya and monastic life. How and where to ordain? Bhikkhuni ordination etc.
Viriya

How do you/did you tell unsupportive parents?

Post by Viriya »

Some of you have been there, done that. How did you tell you parents you were going to become a monk/nun, how did they take it, and what would you do differently if you had another chance? How did you request their 'permission'? How did you reassure/convince your parents?

With much gratefulness,
Viriya
I'm not very good at right speech, although I try, so please guide and correct me if necessary so I don't make bad kamma for myself and cause others to be annoyed. (=
Ytrog

Re: How do you/did you tell unsupportive parents?

Post by Ytrog »

Well, I had told them once that I was thinking about doing that one day. They thought I had lost it and that I had issues with myself. They would respect it though and support the choice if I made it.

I do still think about it. Even having a job/career now, It seems such a pointless life and I will not do this forever. I want to do something that means something. Not that the things I'm doing are not fun, but they seem just so pointless. I mean be born, go to school, get a career and then die is not the kind of life that I would want. Well, I hope I have the guts to do it someday.

I sincerely hope an actual monk is going to answer your question, because my experience is probably not much to go with. :anjali:

:offtopic: I do wonder though: I saw some members that are monks here. Where do they get the time for participating a forum? :o
I know monasteries (in the UK no less) that are only reachable by mail and do not have internet (other than their site).

:focus:

I'm curious about what people will reply as well. Interesting topic, although I guess the title doesn't match the question. There can't be only unsupportive parents out there.
Suffering is asking from life what it can never give you.