Thanissaro Bikkhu and manipulation of the breath

General discussion of issues related to Theravada Meditation, e.g. meditation postures, developing a regular sitting practice, skillfully relating to difficulties and hindrances, etc.
twelph

Thanissaro Bikkhu and manipulation of the breath

Post by twelph »

When first learning to meditate many years ago, the teachers I studied under all had a clear rule about not trying to control the breathe. Within this past year I have started to really bunker down and study the teachings of my favorite modern teachers, namely Gil Fronsdal, Sayadaw U Tejaniya, and Thanissaro Bikkhu. While I greatly enjoy Thanissaro's Pali references in the majority of his work, I seem to have an aversion to his style of meditation that he talks about in most of his dhamma talks and compiled essays.The whole idea of wanting to manipulate the breathe to get rid of unpleasant feelings, and to create momentary pleasure seems to stem from greed and aversion. Is this the wrong way to look at it? Is there any information in the Suttas that mention this type of practice?
Last edited by twelph on Wed Feb 15, 2012 6:02 pm, edited 3 times in total.
retrofuturist

Re: Thanissaro Bikkhu and manipulation of the breathe

Post by retrofuturist »

Greetings,
twelph wrote:Is this the wrong way to look at it?
Yes.
twelph wrote:Is there any information in the Suttas that mention this type of practice?
Follow specifically that which I have bolded...