Strange feeling accompanied by wobbling?

General discussion of issues related to Theravada Meditation, e.g. meditation postures, developing a regular sitting practice, skillfully relating to difficulties and hindrances, etc.

Strange feeling accompanied by wobbling?

Postby Salatier » Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:44 am

Hi, I'm very new to this, and have begun trying to practice ...samatha? i hope that's right... by sitting and counting my breath, focusing on the point of feeling in my nose, all that stuff. I've done this once or twice a day for 4 days in a row now, each day the time of each sitting has increased.
Today i sat down just as i came home from school to begin, and everything seemed to be going well. I quickly became very calm feeling, when suddenly i felt a little panicky. I tried to stay focused but eventually, as a numbness feeling was felt throughout my whole body, i opened my eyes and changed my position, and it was all over immediately. It was strange, but i didn't think too much of it as i was no longer feeling panicked, and i still don't know what it was. But then, tonight, i just went to try again and was able to hold my concentration longer than before, probably around 15 minutes. After these 15, i started to feel the same numbness i guess, but without the panic. Remembering before, i held my concentration and stayed motionless. What felt like seconds later, i started to feel a little dizzy, and felt like i was wobbling. I started to get a little worried, fearing i had gone out of my limits and opened my eyes again to stop. I looked at my clock and i had been doing this for nearly a half hour, what felt like just over 15 minutes.

Does anyone know what this could be, and if it is bad? If i encounter it again tomorrow, what should i do?

ps Sorry, i know this post is unnecessarily long, i do that a lot...
Salatier

Re: Strange feeling accompanied by wobbling?

Postby Reductor » Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:49 am