A few Anapanasati questions

General discussion of issues related to Theravada Meditation, e.g. meditation postures, developing a regular sitting practice, skillfully relating to difficulties and hindrances, etc.
blo0mz

A few Anapanasati questions

Post by blo0mz »

Hello,

I'm sorry if this would be more suited for the Introduction To Theravada subforum.

Anyway...

I'm a relative beginner. I've been practicing Anapanasati for a few months, and I try to attend a meditation with a Sri Lankan bhikku once a week (metta + anapanasati). Often, while meditating, I seem to be unable to tell whether or not I'm thinking. The space seems to be empty, but I feel like there is more going on than I am aware of. Sorry, it's hard to describe... does anybody know what I'm talking about?

Also, I find it very difficult to breathe unintentionally. I begin to worry if I'm suppressing the breath intentionally, etc

Thanks
Ben

Re: A few Anapanasati questions

Post by Ben »

blo0mz wrote:Hello,

I'm sorry if this would be more suited for the Introduction To Theravada subforum.

Anyway...

I'm a relative beginner. I've been practicing Anapanasati for a few months, and I try to attend a meditation with a Sri Lankan bhikku once a week (metta + anapanasati). Often, while meditating, I seem to be unable to tell whether or not I'm thinking. The space seems to be empty, but I feel like there is more going on than I am aware of. Sorry, it's hard to describe... does anybody know what I'm talking about?

Also, I find it very difficult to breathe unintentionally. I begin to worry if I'm suppressing the breath intentionally, etc

Thanks