YOU CANNOT POST. OUR WEB HOSTING COMPANY DECIDED TO MOVE THE SERVER TO ANOTHER LOCATION. IN THE MEANTIME, YOU CAN VIEW THIS VERSION WHICH DOES NOT ALLOW POSTING AND WILL NOT SAVE ANYTHING YOU DO ONCE THE OTHER SERVER GOES ONLINE.

Getting used to sobriety - Page 2 - Dhamma Wheel

Getting used to sobriety

Buddhist ethical conduct including the Five Precepts (Pañcasikkhāpada), and Eightfold Ethical Conduct (Aṭṭhasīla).
User avatar
mirco
Posts: 448
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: Getting used to sobriety

Postby mirco » Tue Aug 13, 2013 9:31 pm

"An important term for meditative absorption is samadhi. We often translate that as concentration, but that can suggest a certain stiffness. Perhaps unification is a better rendition, as samadhi means to bring together. Deep samadhi isn't at all stiff. It's a process of letting go of other things and coming to a unified experience." -

Sadge
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 2:30 am
Location: U. K

Re: Getting used to sobriety

Postby Sadge » Wed Aug 14, 2013 7:21 pm

Thanks everyone for your support.

I reckon I'm making this sound worse than it is!

Think I'm over the hump with nicotine, feeling much calmer today. Man. I have nothing else to give up! Amazing!

Arali
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: Getting used to sobriety

Postby Arali » Sat Aug 17, 2013 9:20 pm

Well done Sadge. :twothumbsup:

Digity
Posts: 1205
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 2:13 am

Re: Getting used to sobriety

Postby Digity » Mon Aug 19, 2013 2:16 am


User avatar
Stu
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 3:33 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Getting used to sobriety

Postby Stu » Tue Aug 27, 2013 5:56 am


Sadge
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 2:30 am
Location: U. K

Re: Getting used to sobriety

Postby Sadge » Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:53 pm

Finally I know it is out of my system. Man was I a stroppy person for a good 3 weeks. Done done done.


Return to “Sīla”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests

Google Saffron, Theravada Search Engine