Tips for sustaining concentration.

Discussion of Samatha bhavana and Jhana bhavana.

Tips for sustaining concentration.

Postby robdog » Wed Apr 09, 2014 7:31 am

Hey guys:)

I have been meditating now seriously for around 12 months, i sometimes feel like im not getting much out of it but then i only have to look at me now as a person compared to what i was like 12 months ago to see that is not the case as i have changed for the better in so many ways. I currently just sit and watch the breath using "Buddho" mantra.

What i am finding though in my 30 minute sitting is that most of the time within 5 minutes or so i am pretty much focused on the breath and start to feel nice and relaxed, this lasts for around 10 minutes and feels great but then my mind starts on me, it can be any sort of thought, some really weird and strange, others that are things from my past or concerns about my future etc, standard monkey mind stuff. I find it very hard to just sit through them so to speak and not get involved, they seem to sort of for want of a better word possess my mind. I find this carries on for much of the rest of my sitting.

I do understand i need to be patient and i am trying to develop my practice away from the cushion but i was just wandering if anyone had any tricks for developing concentration or is it simply a case of just trying to be more mindful and keep going back to the breath everytime i catch myself wandering?

Ive always had problems with an overactive mind to be fair and i am trying not to get frustrated by it as it simply is what it is but if there are any tips it would be greatly appreciated it.

Thanks for your time:)

With Metta

Rob
robdog

Re: Tips for sustaining concentration.

Postby culaavuso » Wed Apr 09, 2014 7:37 am

Five techniques for relaxing distracting thoughts are covered in MN 20.

If the mind is restless, it could be useful to focus on developing the appropriate factors for awakening at that time as discussed in SN 46.53.