Namaste!

Introduce yourself to others at Dhamma Wheel.
Dharma Farmer

Namaste!

Post by Dharma Farmer »

Namaste all, I’ve been lurking for a while but thought I’d join finally!

I live in UK and I’m exploring (with great attraction and calling) the Theravada tradition. I’ve spent a few years as a devotee of Sanatana Dharma (Hinduism) but have found that my busy family life (wife and three young children) and the inability to have a guru (as specified in the vedas) has left me questioning my current direction on this spiritual path.

I had been regularly watching a Theravada Buddhist monk on YouTube and much of what he said brought me to my current realisation regarding our own path.

I have a prediction that although I’m not new to meditation etc I am new to some of key differences between Hinduism/Buddhism... especially the atman/self etc! Well let’s find out anyway!

Although I’m aiming high, I understand my place as a lay/householder but any effort to break or reduce suffering & the samsara cycle must have its merits surely?

Well, enough waffling from me! I’d be very grateful if anyone can recommend a good Theravada e-learning course?
Aum Shanti
Rob
(Apologies for not knowing all the lingo yet)
retrofuturist

Re: Namaste!

Post by retrofuturist »

Greetings Rob,

Welcome to Dhamma Wheel.

:buddha1:

As for learning about Theravada, the best way is probably with a Sutta anthology.

Failing that, I remember finding plenty of good, free resources at Buddhanet when I was starting out.

Metta,
Paul. :)
"Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things."
SarathW

Post by SarathW »

:hello:
“As the lamp consumes oil, the path realises Nibbana”
Ceisiwr

Post by Ceisiwr »

Dharma Farmer

Greetings and welcome. Another good resource for beginners is here: https://www.accesstoinsight.org/