In what do you work? How do you spend your money?

If you wish to partake in casual "off-topic" discussion amongst spiritual friends, please do so in the Lounge at Dhamma Wheel Engaged.
mario92

In what do you work? How do you spend your money?

Post by mario92 »

Hi im presently unemployed, i had passed this semester succesfully with good notes, so im actually looking for a job in mcdonalds, im studying graphic design, but im urged to gain some money, if not i wont been able to give, so for me it is very important for my spiritual practice and gaining of material things and also for my emotional health and of my family. My father want me to work for him, but he doesnt let me give to the sangha, or he get angry when i do it or to other people, only when i work to other people i can give to whatever person i want, and i can spend my money in whatever i want. So i have this urge.

I have this questions:

In what do you work?
How do you spent your money?
also if you can give an advice for students looking for a job, and what kind of job it could be, is a question.

Thank you for your time in reading this
BasementBuddhist

Re: In what do you work? How do you spend your money?

Post by BasementBuddhist »

I work at a Fast Food place, kind of like McDonalds, called Rallys. I'd say fast food is good for students, because scheduling is very flexible, and you can take the time you need for your studies. Don't expect to make a lot of money. Having a job definitely allows me to be charitable. You cannot give what you don't have. I usually try to have some money free for when I meet a beggar, or for when people I know just don't have what they need.

I use the money I make to provide for my partner and two dogs. I try to save as much as I can as well, not to horde a lot of treasure, but because needs come up, and being able to take care of my loved ones is important.