From Mahayana to Theravada

A discussion on all aspects of Theravāda Buddhism
Taro

From Mahayana to Theravada

Post by Taro »

Hi all,

I’m very new to Theravada, I’ve been a Buddhist for almost a decade in the Mahayana tradition, mainly the Tibetan Vajrayana lineage. Here in South Africa there are no Theravada centres or temples or any presence that I know of. There are many Mahayana centres, mainly Zen and Tibetan. I took refuge vows in the Tibetan Nyingma tradition and also received a few tantric initiations however I have become just as weary of the theistic type worship and promises of help and blessings from deities and bodhisattvas as I did of god, angels and saints intercession when I was still a Christian. My question is; if there’s no Sangha in my home country, is practice in the Theravada tradition something which can be done alone?

Thank you 🙏🏻
Taro
SteRo

Re: From Mahayana to Theravada

Post by SteRo »

Taro wrote: Thu Aug 06, 2020 7:33 am if there’s no Sangha in my home country, is practice in the Theravada tradition something which can be done alone?
Sure. Of course you have to rely on teachings and interpretations which originate from others, but there are e.g. a lot of online resources. There isn't that living teacher/guru cult that is known in most of the Mahayana traditions and which may be obstructive.
"Monks, be islands unto yourselves,[1] be your own refuge, having no other; let the Dhamma be an island and a refuge to you, having no other. Those who are islands unto themselves... should investigate to the very heart of things
https://www.accesstoinsight.org/tipitak ... .wlsh.html
He who sees Dhamma, Vakkali, sees me; he who sees me sees Dhamma. Truly seeing Dhamma, one sees me; seeing me one sees Dhamma."
Cleared. αδόξαστος.
Ceisiwr

Post by Ceisiwr »

Yes it is.
“Knowing that this body is just like foam,
understanding it has the nature of a mirage,
cutting off Māra’s flower-tipped arrows,
one should go beyond the King of Death’s sight.”