Guidance In Translating Idiomatic Phrases to Pali

Explore the ancient language of the Tipitaka and Theravāda commentaries
namyoho

Guidance In Translating Idiomatic Phrases to Pali

Post by namyoho »

I have been studying Sanskrit for 4 years, and recently became interested in Pali. I have been trying to translate some text, but have difficulty in the following. I would greatly appreciate all help:

1. Then leaf subsides to leaf.

2. With the lapse of time, it began to vain.

3. When it seemed as if it could bear no more.

4. There is something wrong, in wanting to silence any song.

Thank you.
samseva

Re: Guidance In Translating Idiomatic Phrases to Pali

Post by samseva »

With Pāḷi, you should be translating from Pāḷi, rather than to Pāḷi.

You technically could, though, but why?
Sam Vara
Site Admin

Post by Sam Vara »

samseva wrote: Mon Oct 18, 2021 7:48 am With Pāḷi, you should be translating from Pāḷi, rather than to Pāḷi.

You technically could, though, but why?
Fluency. The Oxford Centre for Buddhist Studies Pali course has students conversing in Pali, and primers like Lily da Silva's and Warder get learners translating from English to Pali.

That Robert Frost is exceptionally difficult, though!
samseva

Post by samseva »

Sam Vara wrote: Mon Oct 18, 2021 9:10 am Fluency.
Okay, but I mean, what is the point of talking in Pāḷi? Although it surely helps with memorization of vocabulary and grammatical rules, one's time would be better spent translating from Pāḷi.
Sam Vara
Site Admin

Post by Sam Vara »

samseva wrote: Mon Oct 18, 2021 9:18 am
Sam Vara wrote: Mon Oct 18, 2021 9:10 am Fluency.
Okay, but I mean, what is the point of talking in Pāḷi? Although it surely helps with memorization of vocabulary and grammatical rules, one's time would be better spent translating from Pāḷi.
As I said, it helps with fluency. Maybe different people find different learning techniques to be effective for them.