Ordination (pabbaja) for gays

Discussion of ordination, the Vinaya and monastic life. How and where to ordain? Bhikkhuni ordination etc.
MrKha

Ordination (pabbaja) for gays

Post by MrKha »

Hello.
My first post in this forum, so, please, be gentle :D

I am more active in Mahayana. I studied Zen and Thien, but also am active in a Theravda pagoda near my house. I learned Pali at university and also read the Pali canon. I am familiar with the Theravda teachings. I have been considering to stay in a Theravada pagoda for some time (I mean, the consideration). I do not know if I want to become ordained. Just stay, at first.

A friend of mine is active in Dhammakaya. I know about the controversy of this school.

Anyhow, I looked into it and read their application form.

The first question is: Are you homosexual. Yes/No

And then they elaborate that homosexuals and pandakas cannot be ordained. They are, just not welcome. I could just check the "no", but I do not want to start my enlightenment path with a lie.

As a matter of fact...I am gay. I am living celibate, though - at least, the past six years. In Zen, there was no one caring about that stuff. And even in Thien, which follows the Theravada Vinaya (no sex for monks and uposatha-days), no one ever asked about or mentioned it.

Is that common in Thailand? I know many gays who got ordained. Being gay does not automatically mean actively gay. I know, monastery, many monks, male monks...I am not seeking "fun" there. If Dhammakaya does not want any gays, ok, I am good with that.

I live 40 minutes by plane from Bangkok, so I really wanted to realise my stay in a Thai pagoda. Not forever; some months. Are all pagodas that strict with this?

Please, I am not asking whether Dhammakaya is right, wrong, discrimating or other political in/correct stuff. It is their policy and they can do whatever I want. I have my own thoughts about it, but will not leave that here.

Thank you!
:namaste:
JamesTheGiant