Psychotherapy

A place to discuss health and fitness, healthy diets. A fit body makes for a fit mind.
Alexander____

Psychotherapy

Post by Alexander____ »

I'm thinking about starting psychotherapy training and was wondering if anyone had any information on the relationship between Buddhism and psychotherapy (not western mindfulness).

Thank you in advance.

Alexander
Psychotropic

Re: Psychotherapy

Post by Psychotropic »

Read chapter 5, "The great book" from Samyutta Nikaya. Especially the "4 bases of power" chapter.
Javi

Post by Javi »

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buddhism_and_psychology

The references and sources point to a lot of material to look into as well
Vayadhammā saṅkhārā appamādena sampādethā — All things decay and disappoint, it is through vigilance that you succeed — Mahāparinibbāna Sutta

Self-taught poverty is a help toward philosophy, for the things which philosophy attempts to teach by reasoning, poverty forces us to practice. — Diogenes of Sinope

I have seen all things that are done under the sun, and behold, all is vanity and a chase after wind — Ecclesiastes 1.14
Alexander____

Post by Alexander____ »

Thank you for these
ieee23

Post by ieee23 »

Alexander____ wrote:I'm thinking about starting psychotherapy training and was wondering if anyone had any information on the relationship between Buddhism and psychotherapy (not western mindfulness).
Ajahn Brahm often jokes that he teaches for free what many psychotherapists in his office will teach to their patients for a hefty fee. I think there is a grain of truth in that joke. I've met a lot of psychotherapists and LCSWs at meditation retreats. A lot of the advice people told me their shrinks gave to them sounds a lot like secularized Buddhism and mindfulness.
Whatever a bhikkhu frequently thinks and ponders upon, that will become the inclination of his mind. - MN 19
pink_trike

Post by pink_trike »

ieee23 wrote: