Lockdown Stress

A place to discuss health and fitness, healthy diets. A fit body makes for a fit mind.
No_Mind

Lockdown Stress

Post by No_Mind »

I am facing a strange problem on day 12 of lockdown.

I suffer from OCD (I have chronicled my struggle with it elsewhere). It has been under remarkable control for about 15 years. But lockdown means no maid, so no one to clean.

I am cooking, working (from home) and looking after an invalid .. which leaves me no time/energy to clean.

This was not a problem for first 4-6 days. But now my OCD is driving me mad. I can try and clean (I am doing what I can) but no possible way I can do it as a professional cleaner can (just like the professional cleaner can't do what I do for a living!)

I am sort of failing. Not doing anything wrong like drink but getting depressed and more depressed and more depressed! Theoretically this can go on for another 30 days :weep:

What I am trying to say is, when life is stripped down to a bare struggle for survival (not unlike zombie stories) why do I still have an attachment to words like failing (or winning)?

I am unable to just exist and that shows I have not progressed at all in almost 7 years. I still apply adjectives to my life. I thought I was way past the rich/poor, fat/slim, dichotomous manner of thinking.

How to stay mindful? How to not subject myself to judgement by me?

Edit Add -

1. This is not the same as a retreat. A retreat does not have an uncertain ending.
2. Also, I have come face to face with how deep samskaras run and quite overwhelmed by the thought of ever being able to eradicate any except the ones that are most superficial - lust, greed, envy .. so on

:namaste:
"The struggle itself toward the heights is enough to fill a man's heart. One must imagine Sisyphus happy.”― Albert Camus
santa100

Re: Lockdown Stress

Post by santa100 »

No_Mind wrote:I am facing a strange problem on day 12 of lockdown.