I think I'm not compatible with the Goenka Technique/Network

General discussion of issues related to Theravada Meditation, e.g. meditation postures, developing a regular sitting practice, skillfully relating to difficulties and hindrances, etc.
MisterRunon

I think I'm not compatible with the Goenka Technique/Network

Post by MisterRunon »

First I'd like to comment that I do like Goenka, and his discourses are great. I think his technique has been effective for countless people. However, I have been meditating for about 18 months now (I've done 4 10 day retreats in that time), and though I've seen some results, they are minor and probably not up to par to what he'd expect (based on what he says in the last day of the 10 day course).

My main issue with the technique: It's supposed to be a "choice-less awareness," but I feel as if I have to force the moving of my attention from the top of the head down to the feet, and from the feet back to the head. I can do it, but I'm always aware of of an aversion to actually doing it when not at at a retreat (and probably an attachment to just wanting to be aware of whatever sensation is in the body, the natural breath, or my environment). I feel as if the Anapana builds up my concentration/energy, and the constant scanning depletes it. I'm thinking there are quite a few people who feel the same, as I've met at least 3 or so students who say they only stick to Anapana. I also know of a few students who have been to 20+ retreats, and they are still struggling. I do think it's possible that if I persist, one day that aversion to scanning will be gone though.

My second issue: The retreats feel impersonal and I feel the Assistant Teachers are sort of kept on a leash; it's hard for me to build a direct relationship with them, though I have met a few whom I liked. After reading up on the well-known teachers, it seems the best known ones are good locating your symptoms and giving you helpful advice (such as U Pandita).