e-reader for meditation books

General discussion of issues related to Theravada Meditation, e.g. meditation postures, developing a regular sitting practice, skillfully relating to difficulties and hindrances, etc.
no mike

e-reader for meditation books

Post by no mike »

Hi :)

I am thinking about getting an e-reader, specifically I might get the Kindle Voyage. It seems like a great device for nonfiction reference books, manuals, etc.

But I have no experience with e-readers and the documents that are available for free use, such as meditation manuals available for downloading, Dhamma books, etc. Does anyone know if there are any compatibility issues or have any other recommendations for other e-readers for this use?

Thank you !!

Mike
Ben

Re: e-reader for meditation books

Post by Ben »

I read ebooks via a kindle, iPad and laptop. Generally I prefer reading from my kindle. The resolution is excellent for ebooks that have been formatted for kindle. Where it's not so good is when reading books that are not edited for or formatted to mobi, such as pdf files. You can get free ebook management applications like calibre that will convert other documents to mobi files, but if your Dhamma book contains extensive end notes, appendices, and indexes, then navigation to use the end matter is a right-royal pain in the proverbial. And that is why I still prefer print for some books.
I hope that helps.
Ben
“No lists of things to be done. The day providential to itself. The hour. There is no later. This is later. All things of grace and beauty such that one holds them to one's heart have a common provenance in pain. Their birth in grief and ashes.”
- Cormac McCarthy, The Road

Learn this from the waters:
in mountain clefts and chasms,
loud gush the streamlets,
but great rivers flow silently.
- Sutta Nipata 3.725

Compassionate Hands Foundation (Buddhist aid in Myanmar) • Buddhist Global ReliefUNHCR

e: [email protected]..
soapy3

Post by soapy3 »