Holding sila 8 and eating after noon time.

Buddhist ethical conduct including the Five Precepts (Pañcasikkhāpada), and Eightfold Ethical Conduct (Aṭṭhasīla).
JC938

Holding sila 8 and eating after noon time.

Post by JC938 »

Hi,

If Im holding sila 8 and I some days eat in the evening. Is it ok? Is it bad? I have been holding for about 1-2 months but some days I eat after noon as I want to walk the middle path and dont want to be too strict and steessful. I eat bevause I have urge but if I wanted I could control I believe. I want to know if its ok.

Thanks.
Inedible

Re: Holding sila 8 and eating after noon time.

Post by Inedible »

It seems like what I remember reading on the subject is that if you are going to do so, that it is best to choose something liquid like juice. It didn't say fruit or vegetable. I'd think that a plain broth would fit in the same category. The idea is that it has flavor and calories but still keeps to the purpose of allowing the digestive system to rest and empty out before you sleep. Honey and bananas, while being solid, are also very easy to digest and are good in the event of having a hangover to help with recovery. The process of digestion just happens to be most efficient in the morning and that is one of the reasons. Another is that it tends to be easier for lay supporters on your alms round if they just have to give you something once, at a fixed time frame.
Nobodyisspecial

Post by Nobodyisspecial »

8 precepts, right?
No eating afternoon? Right?
This is where I think it is a deep issue.
The laity observing monastic precepts? It's a grey area (kind of hard to declare whether laity should behave like monks?).
To me it's obvious that's it's a transition from laity to monk in this grey area. What do you think?
At what point does studying the vinaya become relevant?