Intensive Samadhi Practice

The cultivation of calm or tranquility and the development of concentration
KupaMalandrin

Intensive Samadhi Practice

Post by KupaMalandrin »

Dear reader,

I am practicing in line with Than Ajahn Maha Boowa's Thai Forest Tradition and my situation is a little bit desperate, I thought you'd have the compassion to give me some advice.

I have been practicing intense samadhi meditation for 4 months now and I can get very calm during the session, which may last up to 3 hours. I meditate for about 8 hours a day, and it seems that after my sessions are finished, all thoughts, emotions and cravings can be more easily triggered and difficult to deal with. It is contradictory but samtha meditation is indeed making my life much harder.

Whenever i am not in meditation, I feel like anything can trigger an obsession or an intense emotion. Also, there seems to be much less consistency to my thoughts: one day I have this opinion only to have the complete opposite opinion on the next day. This makes making decisions a real struggle and life is becoming much harder.

Many thanks in advance
Aloka

Re: Intensive Samadhi Practice

Post by Aloka »

KupaMalandrin wrote: Wed Aug 25, 2021 2:34 pm Dear reader,

I am practicing in line with Than Ajahn Maha Boowa's Thai Forest Tradition and my situation is a little bit desperate, I thought you'd have the compassion to give me some advice.

I have been practicing intense samadhi meditation for 4 months now and I can get very calm during the session, which may last up to 3 hours. I meditate for about 8 hours a day, and it seems that after my sessions are finished, all thoughts, emotions and cravings can be more easily triggered and difficult to deal with. It is contradictory but samtha meditation is indeed making my life much harder.