How long to attain first jhana?

General discussion of issues related to Theravada Meditation, e.g. meditation postures, developing a regular sitting practice, skillfully relating to difficulties and hindrances, etc.
oatsandmilk

How long to attain first jhana?

Post by oatsandmilk »

I have been meditating for about five years or little more. But I cannot say I have ever reached jhana. Only been able to feel peaceful and tranquil.

However on Reddit there are a few who reached first jhana in less than a month or even less than a week.

https://www.reddit.com/r/Meditation/com ... ain_jhana/

Is it because they had a purer mind? What role does purity of mind (by which I mean lack of Kleshas, the ten defilements listed in Abhidhamma) have to play?

:anjali:
Ceisiwr

Re: How long to attain first jhana?

Post by Ceisiwr »

oatsandmilk wrote: Tue Nov 24, 2020 4:54 pm I have been meditating for about five years or little more. But I cannot say I have ever reached jhana. Only been able to feel peaceful and tranquil.

However on Reddit there are a few who reached first jhana in less than a month or even less than a week.

Is it because they had a purer mind? What role does purity of mind (by which I mean lack of Kleshas, the ten defilements listed in Abhidhamma) have to play?

People define the jhanas differently. Some have a “lite” view of Jhana whilst others view them as difficult to obtain absorbed states. Those laypeople who claim to have experienced them tend to be of the “lite” Jhana camp. To experience Jhana you need a firm grounding in virtue, ideally the 8 precepts. You also need some experience with basic satipatthana practice. After that anapanasati is a good practice for developing the Jhanas. I would advise following the advise contained in the Patisambhidamagga, Vimuttimagga and Visuddhimagga. This is also good from Ledi Sayadaw: http://www.ffmt.fr/articles/maitres/Led ... ayadaw.pdf
Last edited by Ceisiwr on Tue Nov 24, 2020 5:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.