Rebirth and keeping one's practice

A discussion on all aspects of Theravāda Buddhism
zenman

Rebirth and keeping one's practice

Post by zenman »

I am new to Buddhism and I have this question: Suppose in this life I try to practice according to the Buddha's teachings but at the very end of my life I am still not a Sotapanna, and off I go to be reborn. Let's say I am reborn again as a human, then will I still be able to pick up where I left off in this life and continue practicing, or will my progress be "reset" in some sense and I will have to begin again from scratch ? If that is the case then would it mean that I either have to be able to enter the stream in this life, or wait for an indefinite amount of time before I can encounter the Buddha's teachings again?

I think I have read somewhere in the Pali suttas that wondering about "where will I be" or "what will be my future states" is inappropriate attention, i.e. one should just abandon such thoughts. However, sometimes I feel that having a little bit of assurance provides me more energy for practice. I would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you.
SarathW

Re: Rebirth and keeping one's practice

Post by SarathW »

"Have no fear, Mahanama! Have no fear! Your death will not be a bad one, your demise will not be bad. If one's mind has long been nurtured with conviction, nurtured with virtue, nurtured with learning, nurtured with relinquishment, nurtured with discernment, then when the body — endowed with form, composed of the four primary elements, born from mother & father, nourished with rice & porridge, subject to inconstancy, rubbing, pressing, dissolution, & dispersion — is eaten by crows, vultures, hawks, dogs, hyenas, or all sorts of creatures, nevertheless the mind — long nurtured with conviction, nurtured with virtue, learning, relinquishment, & discernment — rises upward and separates out.
https://www.accesstoinsight.org/tipitak ... .than.html
“As the lamp consumes oil, the path realises Nibbana”