The precepts and covert medication

Buddhist ethical conduct including the Five Precepts (Pañcasikkhāpada), and Eightfold Ethical Conduct (Aṭṭhasīla).
studentofdhamma

The precepts and covert medication

Post by studentofdhamma »

Dear All,

I have a question about ethical conduct in regard to my university course.

I am studying a course in the medical field which requires me to go on placements. My upcoming placement will be in a ward that cares for patients with dementia and various psychiatric problems. I have been told that a common practice on wards like this one is covert medication. This involves covertly administering medication by mixing it into food or a drink and then giving this to a patient without telling them. It is used in cases where patients are unlikely to consent to taking a medication that it may be in there best interest.

I'm not sure it sits well with me, however. While it does not seem to be explicitly against the five precepts, as there is no explicit lying involved, it still seems to be somewhat deceptive, even if in the best interests of the patient.

I would be grateful for some advice on this topic.

May all beings be well,
Student of Dhamma.
dharmacorps

Re: The precepts and covert medication

Post by dharmacorps »

When someone has dementia, their mind and ability to reason is diminished. Each time you give them medication, it would be a new experience to them because they won't remember taking it before. As long as the medication is not harming them, I don't see a alternative. The intentions of medications is to treat disease and improve health. Many of these people would have been dead long ago were it not for the medications being given to them covertly. I don't see how this particular issue has much to do with the precepts though. If you navigate it the right way. I'm a retired PA so I am familiar with the matter although I worked in pathology, not clinical med.