Doubts on greed, hatred, delusion?

On the cultivation of insight/wisdom
RobertoAnces

Doubts on greed, hatred, delusion?

Post by RobertoAnces »

I don't have access to an ajahn so I'm asking here for everyone to answer what they understand by delusion, if you want to help.

I've been practicing for a few years and well at first it was hard for me to see the greed, hatred and delusion. Right now I think it is more or less evident in my mind but I have doubts with delusion.

I understand, or so I believe, the meaning of greed, is to want or desire something that you do not have, food, a woman (sex), ... I see the pressure that it generates, as it appears at first as something small or insignificant, the beginning of an intention, and it grows like a snowball, how the mind goes from a neutral state to a state of obsessed mind, how it generates pressure and alters thoughts patterns (by instance if your are lustful more thoughts about sex arise in your mind) and how in the end you can't take this pressure anymore and you end up giving into it, or simply as it arrived, it disappears and is replaced by something else...
Hatred is simply the other side of the coin, not wanting something that you do have, a pain, tiredness, hunger, illness, an obligation or a task to do...

But with delusion I have seen a couple of interpretations in various teachers and both seem correct or have some logic to me.
  • One is delusion as a distraction (Ajahn Nanyamoli uses this), simply the fact of wanting to distract yourself because you are bored, or because there is something you don't want (hatred) or do want (greed) that pressures you and the only way to escape the pressure or pain that produces you is distraction, instead of observing the pressure, what you want or not, what it implies, that is, instead of enduring and practicing to understand the dhamma and free yourself, you simply look the other way as you cannot hold the pressure, you distract yourself ...